Join Our Team!Sports Beat Writing Opportunities Available!

Kyle Busch wins pole for Sunday’s Brickyard 400 at Indianapolis

Photo by Zach Horrall

Indianapolis – Two-time defending winner Kyle Busch topped the charts and won the pole for Sunday’s Brickyard 400 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

The top starting spot is the second straight for Busch, and third straight for Joe Gibbs Racing, who also won the pole in 2015 with Carl Edwards at the helm of the No. 19.

The top-5 is stacked with former Brickyard 400 winners, with Kevin Harvick (2003) sharing the front row with Busch, while Jamie McMurray (2010) starts third, Jimmie Johnson (2006, 2008, 2009, 2012) is fourth and Denny Hamlin rounds out the top-5.

Here is the full starting lineup for Sunday’s prestigious race:

  1. Kyle Busch
  2. Kevin Harvic
  3. Jamie McMurray
  4. Jimmie Johnson
  5. Denny Hamlin
  6. Martin Truex Jr.
  7. Joey Logano
  8. Ryan Newman
  9. Erik Jones
  10. Ryan Blaney
  11. Brad Keselowski
  12. Kurt Busch
  13. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  14. Matt Kenseth
  15. Daniel Suarez
  16. Chase Elliott
  17. Paul Menard
  18. Clint Bowyer
  19. Kasey Kahne
  20. Austin Dillon
  21. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  22. Trevor Bayne
  23. Danica Patrick
  24. Michael McDowell
  25. Kyle Larson
  26. Chris Buescher
  27. Matt DiBenedetto
  28. Ty Dillon
  29. Aric Almirola
  30. David Ragan
  31. Landon Cassil
  32. Corey LaJoie
  33. J.J. Yeley
  34. Cole Whitt
  35. B.J. McLeod
  36. Gray Gaulding
  37. Jeffrey Earnhardt
  38. Carl Long
  39. Joey Gase
  40. A.J. Allmendinger

Zach Horrall is a NASCAR reporter for the Indiana Sports Report and is recognized as an accredited member of the media by NASCAR and has full media access. Follow @ZHorrallBU and the @IndySportsRep on Twitter.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.