Join Our Team!Sports Beat Writing Opportunities Available!

Chris Holtmann Named 2017 Jim Phelan National Coach of the Year Award Finalist

INDIANAPOLIS, IN – Chris Holtmann, Head Coach of the Butler Bulldogs, has been named a finalist for the 2017 Jim Phelan National Coach of the Year Award. The 20 finalists were announced on Monday (March 27).

Photo: Butler Athletics/Butler Men’s Basketball Head Coach Chris Holtmann

Holtmann, the 2016-17 BIG EAST Coach of the Year, led the Bulldogs to a 25-9 record, including a 12-6 mark in BIG EAST Conference play. After being picked sixth in the BIG EAST preseason poll, the Bulldogs finished second. Butler advanced to the Sweet 16 for the first time since 2011. Holtmann’s Bulldogs have made the NCAA Tournament and won at least one game in the tournament in each of his three seasons in charge of the team.

Holtmann was also a finalist for the award in his first season as head coach at Butler, 2014-15.

The Jim Phelan Award is presented annually to the top coach in Division I Men’s Basketball. Phelan led Mount Saint Mary’s University to the 1962 NCAA Men’s Division II Basketball Championship. When he retired in 2003, after coaching for 49 years, he had amassed 830 wins (overall record of 830-524) in all divisions. In those 49 years, 19 of his teams amassed 20 or more wins in a season.

The recipient of the 2017 Jim Phelan Award will be announced in Phoenix, Ariz., site of the men’s NCAA Division I Basketball Championship.


Steve Alford UCLA
Dana Altman Oregon
Rod Barnes CSU Bakersfield
John Becker Vermont
John Calipari Kentucky
Chris Collins Northwestern
Kermit Davis Middle Tennessee
Johnny Dawkins UCF
Jamie Dixon TCU
Mark Few Gonzaga
Mitch Henderson Princeton
Chris Holtmann Butler
Kevin Keatts UNC Wilmington
Frank Martin South Carolina
Matt Painter Purdue
Josh Pastner Georgia Tech
Richard Pitino Minnesota
Bill Self Kansas
Mike White Florida
Roy Williams North Carolina

Chris Fultz is a Senior Writer for the Indiana Sports Report and is recognized as an accredited member of the media by Butler Athletics and has full media access. Follow @CafultzISR and the @IndySportsRep on Twitter.

Leave a Reply