Join Our Team!Sports Beat Writing Opportunities Available!

Butler Football Places 64 on the PFL Academic Honor Roll

INDIANAPOLIS, IN – The Pioneer Football League released its annual Academic Honor Roll on Thursday (Feb. 4). A total of 567 student-athletes from the 11 member institutions were honored, and included in that group were 64 football players from the Butler Bulldogs.

Photo: Butler Athletics/Butler Football Huddle
Photo: Butler Athletics/Butler Football Huddle

The now 11-team league averaged a record 51.5 student-athletes per school named to the honor roll, marking the third consecutive year that the average has increased. Dayton led the way with 76 players named, followed by Drake (68) and Butler. Campbell (47) posted its highest total since the 2011 honor roll.

Pioneer Football League athletic directors and coaches established the honor roll as a way to recognize the league’s outstanding student-athletes. The academic honor roll consists of student-athletes who participated in football at member institutions during the fall semester and posted a 3.0 grade-point average or higher while enrolled full-time in accordance with NCAA rules.

The Butler athletes honored were:

Brian Akialis, R-Jr., Middle and Secondary Ed (English)
Greg Ambrose, Sr., Digital Media Production (Recording Industry)
Kyle Annis, Sr., Actuarial Science (Business Administration/Management Info Systems)
Thomas Baldwin, Fr., Chemistry
Michael Biegalski, Sr., Middle and Secondary Ed (Math)
Richard Brodbeck, R-Jr., Computer Science
Ethan Brunhofer, Fr., Economics/Engineering
Chad Burdo, R-Fr., Finance
Michael Cerone, Fr., Business-Exploratory
Joseph Ciancio, Sr., Economics/Finance
McCord Collier, R-Fr., Business-Exploratory
Brandon Collins, R-So., Finance
Daniel Cotter, R-So., Pharmacy
Noah Cralle, Fr., Marketing
John Cupit, R-Fr., Physics
Zachary Damico, Fr., Business-Exploratory
Michael Demos, Jr., Criminology (Sociology)
Guy DiBalsamo, R-So., Marketing
Ian Dobek, R-So., Biology
Jake Doman, R-So., Finance/Risk Management and Insurance/Spanish
Ryan Donahue, R-Fr., Liberal Arts and Sciences-Exploratory
Kevin Driscoll, Fr., Accounting
Christian Eble, Sr., Biology (Marketing/Chemistry)
Bram Epstein, Fr., Interactive Media (Management Information Systems)
Chase Ferguson, R-Fr., Middle and Secondary Education
Clark Gary, Fr., Business-Exploratory
Evan Giebel, Fr., Liberal Arts and Sciences-Exploratory
Matthew Hawkins, Fr., Business-Exploratory
Joseph Holzmer, Fr., Business-Exploratory
Sean Horan, So., Economics/Mechanical Engineering
Garrett Iverson, Fr., International Business
Robert Jensen, Fr., Finance
Ryan Kelsey, Sr., Actuarial Science
Brian Knight, Sr., Criminology
Samuel Kuiper, Fr., Liberal Arts and Sciences-Exploratory
Duvante Lane, R-Fr., Middle and Secondary Education
Zach LaRoche, R-So., Chemistry
Kole Laville-Shade, Fr., Business-Exploratory
David Leach, R-Jr., Finance/Economics
Jacob Lewis, Fr., Pre-Pharmacy
Will Marty, Fr., Business-Exploratory
Jordan Massey, R-Jr., Middle and Secondary Education
Nick McInally, Sr., Finance
Dominic Merlina, R-Fr., Strategic Communication
Patrick Mosby, Fr., Middle and Secondary Education
Derek O’Connor, Sr., Biology/Chemistry
Alex Peterson, Fr., Business-Exploratory
Nestor Porres, R-So., Digital Media Production
Brett Prather, Sr., Actuarial Science (Business Administration/Management Info Systems)
Hunter Renschler, Sr., Political Science (Business Law)
Michael Robinson, R-Fr., Entrepreneurship and Innovation
Anthony Scaccia, Fr., Middle and Secondary Education
Sam Schrader, R-Fr., Business-Exploratory
Brett Shannon, Sr., Marketing/Finance
Matt Shiltz, R-Jr., Accounting/Management Info Systems
Steve Sreniawski, Sr., Finance/Risk Management and Insurance
Marc Tomac Geers, Fr., Political Science
Jon Treloar, Jr., Finance
Rico Watson, Jr., Chemistry/Energy Engineering
Malcolm Weaver, R-So., Strategic Communication
Brad Weber, R-Fr., Finance/Risk Management and Insurance
Jeff Weber, Fr., Accounting
Josh Willis, So., Political Science
Zach Wolfe, Jr., Actuarial Science (Business Administration)

Chris Fultz is a senior writer for the Indiana Sports Report and is recognized as an accredited member of the media by Butler Athletics and has full media access. Follow @CafultzISR and the @IndySportsRep on Twitter.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.