Join Our Team!Sports Beat Writing Opportunities Available!

Butler Bulldogs Place Four on All-Pioneer Football League Teams

INDIANAPOLIS, IN – The Butler Bulldogs placed four players on the 2016 All-Pioneer Football League teams and added seven honorable mention selections. Butler finished the season with a 4-7 record.

Redshirt senior DL Jordan Ransone made the All-PFL First Team despite ending his season early due to injury. The defensive lineman played in just eight games and totaled 5.5 sacks, seven tackles for loss, 27 tackles, and a fumble recovery. This is Ransone’s first appearance on an All-PFL Team.

Sophomore WR Pace Temple earned All-PFL Second Team honors on the season. Temple led the Bulldogs in every receiving category and also put his name in the Butler record book. Temple’s 978 receiving yards on the season place him at sixth on Butler’s single season list. His 61 receptions rank him ninth on Butler’s single-season list. The sophomore also hauled in five touchdowns and eclipsed the 100-yard mark for receiving yards three different times. This will be the wide receiver’s first appearance on an All-PFL Team.

Photo: Butler Athletics/Butler Redshirt Senior DL Jordan Ransone
Photo: Butler Athletics/Butler Redshirt Senior DL Jordan Ransone

Redshirt junior RB Duvante Lane earned All-PFL Second Team accolades. The running back gained 706 yards rushing on the season to go along with a team-leading nine rushing touchdowns. The back surpassed 100 rushing yards twice during the year — against Franklin and Valparaiso. This marks Lane’s first appearance on an All-PFL Team.

Redshirt senior and tri-captain OL Michael Demos also earned All-PFL Second Team accolades. The offensive lineman anchored a Butler line that averaged 171 rushing yards per game. Demos earned First Team All-PFL honors in 2014 and was an Honorable Mention All-PFL honoree in 2013. He missed the entire 2015 season.

Redshirt junior TE Cord Collier, Senior LB David Starkey, junior LB Ethan Brunhofer, redshirt senior LB Sean Horan, junior S Isaak Newhouse, redshirt senior P Ian Dobek, and junior LS Connor Andras earned honorable mention honors.

Chris Fultz is a senior writer for the Indiana Sports Report and is recognized as an accredited member of the media by Butler Athletics and has full media access. Follow @CafultzISR and the @IndySportsRep on Twitter.

Leave a Reply