Join Our Team!Sports Beat Writing Opportunities Available!

Butler Bulldogs Picked Fourth In 2018 PFL Preseason Coaches’ Poll

INDIANAPOLIS, IN – The Butler Bulldogs, coming off a 6-5 2017 season and sixth place finish in the Pioneer Football League, were selected to finish fourth in the 2018 PFL Preseason Coaches’ Poll for the upcoming 2018 campaign.

Butler and Valparaiso tied for the fourth spot after a vote from the league’s head coaches. San Diego took the top spot while Dayton landed in second. Rounding out the top three was Drake with 58 points.

Photo: Butler Athletics/Butler Football

The defending champs were picked to win the PFL title for the eighth consecutive year. San Diego received a maximum nine first-place votes to finish with 81 points. The final first place vote went to Dayton who finished with 72 points.

Drake separated themselves from a large pack of teams for a third-place finish. Butler and Valparaiso each received 48 points to tie for fourth. Jacksonville was one-point shy of a three-way tie with 47 points and Marist would hold on to seventh place with 44 points.

Rounding out the 10-team poll was Morehead State (22), Stetson (19), and Davidson (11).

The upcoming 2018 season marks the 26th year for the Pioneer Football League – the nation’s only non-scholarship, football-only NCAA Football Championship Subdivision conference. The league will feature 10 teams each playing an eight-game schedule to determine the league champion and recipient of the automatic bid to the NCAA FCS Championship.

Butler opens the 2018 season on the road at Youngstown State on Sept. 1. The home opener will be played on Sept. 15 against Princeton and the PFL opener will double as homecoming this year with Butler hosting Morehead State on Sept. 29. Tickets are available now on

Pioneer Football League 2018 Preseason Coaches’ Poll
1) San Diego (9), 81 Points
2) Dayton (1), 72 Points
3) Drake, 58 Points
4) Butler, 48 Points
4) Valparaiso, 48 Points
6) Jacksonville, 47 Points
7) Marist, 44 Points
8) Morehead State, 22 Points
9) Stetson, 19 Points
10) Davidson, 11 Points

– First-place votes in parentheses
– Coaches not allowed to vote for their own team
– Nine points awarded for first-place vote, one point less for each succeeding place

Christopher Fultz is a Senior Writer for the Indiana Sports Report and is recognized as an accredited member of the media by Butler Athletics and has full media access. Follow @CafultzISR and the @IndySportsRep on Twitter.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.