Join Our Team!Sports Beat Writing Opportunities Available!

Butler Bulldogs Earn All-Pioneer Football League Honors

INDIANAPOLIS, IN – The Butler Bulldogs concluded the 2017 season on Saturday, November 11 with a 6-5 record, including a 4-4 mark in Pioneer Football League play. Seven Bulldogs earned 2017 All-Pioneer Football League recognition, as announced by the PFL office on Tuesday, Nov. 28. Junior WR Pace Temple was one of three student-athletes to earn unanimous First-Team All-PFL honors.

All selections were made by the league’s coaches, who were not permitted to vote for their own student-athletes.

Temple was joined on the first team by redshirt senior RB Sam Schrader and sophomore K Drew Bevelhimer. Second-team honorees included redshirt senior DL Chad Burdo, redshirt senior DL Josh Willis, senior LB Ethan Brunhofer and senior S Isaak Newhouse.

Photo: Butler Athletics/Butler Junior Wide Receiver Pace Temple

Temple registered 65 catches for 1,075 yards as a junior, becoming just the fourth Bulldog in program history to go over 1,000 yards in a season. He had five 100-yard games in 2017. His receptions per game and yards per game were both second in the PFL. He is 13th in FCS at 97.7 yards per game.

Temple was a second-team All-PFL selection in 2016.

Schrader, a redshirt senior, rushed for 10 touchdowns and 494 yards this season. He also threw for 184 yards and three touchdowns. His 10 rushing touchdowns trailed only Daniel Smith of Campbell in the PFL rankings. Schrader had three touchdowns against Jacksonville on Oct. 14, and followed that up with three-touchdown performances in each of the next two weeks (running for two and throwing for one in consecutive games against Campbell and Dayton).

Bevelhimer made 16 of his 21 field goal attempts this season. His long was 46 yards. He also connected on 30 of 32 PATs.

Newhouse led the Bulldogs with 96 tackles. Seventy of those stops were solo tackles and that average of 6.4 solo tackles per game led the PFL and is eighth in FCS.

Burdo, a CoSIDA Academic All-District honoree, and Willis led the Bulldogs with 4.5 sacks apiece. Willis had a team-best 11 tackles for loss and seven quarterback hurries. Burdo had 7.5 TFLs.

Brunhofer was second on the team in both tackles (75) and tackles for loss (7.5). His three forced fumbles led the team.

Senior DL Connor Andras (defensive line and long snapper), sophomore LB Mason Brunner, redshirt junior OL Bobby Jensen, redshirt senior RB Duvante Lane and redshirt junior OL Dakota Sneed were honorable mention selections.

The Academic All-PFL team, highlighted by the league’s Scholar-Athlete of the Year, will be released Wednesday, concluding the league’s awards week.

Chris Fultz is a Senior Writer for the Indiana Sports Report and is recognized as an accredited member of the media by Butler Athletics and has full media access. Follow @CafultzISR and the @IndySportsRep on Twitter.

Leave a Reply