Join Our Team!Sports Beat Writing Opportunities Available!

Butler Bulldogs Award Individuals For Standout Football Seasons

INDIANAPOLIS, IN – The Butler Bulldogs recognized members of the 2016 Butler Football team during the annual awards banquet recently. Players vote for the three Top Dawg Awards, and honor performances on the field. The Top Dawg Award recognizes the MVPs of offense, defense and special teams.

Sophomore WR Pace Temple was voted as offensive MVP after leading the team with 978 receiving yards for a breakout season. Temple ranked third in the Pioneer Football League in receptions per game (5.5) and receiving yards per game (88.9). He was named to the 2016 Second Team All-PFL and Second Team Academic All-PFL. Temple’s 978 receiving yards rank among the top single-season marks in program history.

Redshirt senior DT Jordan Ransone was named defensive MVP. He completed the season with 27 tackles and led the team with 5.5 sacks. One of three captains, Ransone was selected to the 2016 First Team All-PFL. He also received the defensive line Battle of the Trenches Award. Ransone posted his numbers in an injury-shortened season.

Photo: Butler Athletics/Butler Football

After finishing the season 12-for-14 on field goal attempts, freshman K Drew Bevelheimer was the MVP for special teams. The kicker accounted for 66 points and his 85.7 field goal percentage was second in the league.

Representing the offensive line for Battle of the Trenches was redshirt senior OL Michael Demos. The Butler Captain was part of the 2016 Second Team All-PFL and appeared in the FCS Bowl All-Star Game.

Newcomer of the Year was freshman LB Mason Brunner. He finished the season with 12 tackles.

Redshirt junior RB Duvante Lane was selected as the Most Improved Player. He led the team in rushing with 145 yards while accumulating nine rushing touchdowns. He was named 2016 Second Team All-PFL.

Redshirt senior LB Sean Horan received the Bulldog Pride Award for exemplifying The Butler Way. Horan was a captain and 2016 CoSIDA Academic All-American in addition to being named First Team Academic All-PFL.

The Unsung Hero Award recognized players on various scout teams. Freshman WR Brad Huth received the honor for offense, redshirt freshman LB Ryan Perkins received the defensive award, and redshirt freshman DB Justin Markus received the special teams award.

Redshirt senior S Zach LaRoche was named One Play Warrior after accumulating 165 points through various special teams plays.

Last First Pos. Year Letters Won
Bevelheimer Drew K FR 1ST
Brunner Mason LB FR 1ST
Colvin Xavier LB R FR 1ST
DelGrosso Daniel LB R FR 1ST
Dragin Aleks DL R FR 1ST
Harris Jared DE R FR 1ST
Jensen Bobby OL R SO 1ST
Lewis Jacob TE R SO 1ST
Marty Will QB R SO 1ST
McArthur John OL R FR 1ST
Peterson Alex OL R SO 1ST
Raleigh Carter LB SO 1ST
Rogers Dalton DB SO 1ST
Sennett Luke DB R FR 1ST
Sznajder Brad RB R FR 1ST
Bacon Zachary DE R JR 2ND
Balder Jacob DB R JR 2ND
Banks Danny DE R JR 2ND
Banks Dylan LB R JR 2ND
Cerone Michael DB R SO 2ND
Geers Mark DE R SO 2ND
Hall John RB R SO 2ND
Hawkins Matt DL R SO 2ND
Kessel Nik DT SO 2ND
Scaccia Anthony RB R SO 2ND
Temple Pace WR SO 2ND
Weaver Nick WR R JR 2ND
Andras Connor LB JR 3RD
Beckman Curtis DE R JR 3RD
Bradley Ryan DB JR 3RD
Brunhofer Ethan LB JR 3RD
Burdo Chad DT R JR 3RD
Collier McCord TE R JR 3RD
Lane Duvante RB R JR 3RD
Newhouse Isaak DB JR 3RD
Schrader Samuel RB R JR 3RD
Brown Tom OL SR 1ST
Chappelle Adam DB SR 3RD
Cotter Danny WR SR 3RD
Cupit Ellis OL SR 2ND
Demos Mike OL SR 3RD
Dobek Ian K/P SR 4TH
Hackett Joe OL SR 3RD
Horan Sean LB SR 4TH
LaRoche Zach S SR 4TH
Porres Nestor OL SR 4TH
Ransone Jordan DT SR 4TH
Robinson Michael OL SR 3RD
Starkey David LB SR 4TH
Weaver Malcom QB SR 3RD
Weber Bradley OL SR 1ST
Wilson Taylor DB SR 3RD

Chris Fultz is a Senior Writer for the Indiana Sports Report and is recognized as an accredited member of the media by Butler Athletics and has full media access. Follow @CafultzISR and the @IndySportsRep on Twitter.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.